Social Media Sucks (Sort of)

Social Media has started to bore me.(Oh no, I’m bored again)

There is only so many repeated posts, click baited content and pictures of cute animals doing cute things that my poor brain can deal with. As a student obsessed with all things digital and a member of generation Y, I should be in my panicle of social media usage. There are pictures to take and status’ still to share but we want more than the traditional sharing methods. We’re fatigued by the bland, lifeless norm we’re almost decentralised to online.

I’m not being engaged by my social media feeds anymore and I know for talks with like minded individuals both on and off line that I’m not alone in feeling this. I go online and quickly seek out information and new sites to explore. Gone are the days when I’d spend hours on social media. As social media obsessed as my generation are, we’ll slowly realising how mindless our favourite sites have become. Is the trend of social media finally started to die out? From usage statistics, a clear no resounds but that doesn’t mean we as social media users aren’t being knocked into dismay by the lack of innovation and “newness”. We want adventure, excitement and outside the box ideas and we’re just not getting that online today.

I am bored of Facebook and it’s repetitive nature, it’s dull features and it’s insistence on pushing personalised ads and content in my face. At the level Facebook are using sponsored content, it feels almost intrusive. I only use Facebook messenger now because it’s the one medium all my friends use. I am weary of the company’s listening technologies and quite frankly who wants to use a social media site they fear? Facebook isn’t a haven of communication anymore, it’s like the pushy sales man of the internet. Not even Facebook live of the new vertical advertising currently being beta’ed by the site will change my mind.

Following Facebook down the dark, dark rabbit hole is Tumblr and in some senses Instagram. Tumblr’s recent acquisition by Yahoo my as well have come with a RIP sign embedded in the site’s header. The visual blogging site which once hosted an array of creativity; becoming the home of teenagers disillusioned with Deviant Art and seeking a medium between Twitter, photo-sharing and Live Journal has since become a hive of nothingness. Tumblr stands as a breathing ground for under-informed keyboard warriors, intent on hopping down the throats of all those who they deem “problematic”  and has also given rise to a lot of anonymous hate sharing. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the ideals of photo-blogging and Tumblr does remain one of my favourite sites, I just feel like I’m a little outside the demographic and am a little afraid of ever expressing an opinion on there for fear of online retribution in the masses. (I once got repeatedly told to go die on Tumblr for expressing my dislike of a fan favourite rock magazine from the UK) Instagram remains my social media home but yet I still dislike the route it’s going down. I don’t need to use Instagram stories, I have a perfectly functional Snapchat account and recent updates to the algorithm mean I rarely see 75% or so of my favourite Instagrammers on my timeline without actually clicking their profiles.

Need I even mention Twitter; a site that my mother would describe as “dead but won’t lay down”. Twitter’s been the old reliable since my early internet usage days and it’s stays just that. While a number of features have been changed and introduced over the past few years, Twitter hasn’t done anything attention grabbing to move itself into the new digital age. Okay, I do like the idea of Periscope but I don’t ever need to use it. The same sentiment exists for Vine. Twitter to me remains a place to rant, re-tweet silly pieces of micro comedy and live tweet the latest episode of Poldark (swoon)

When Snapchat burst onto the scene, it brought with it excitement. This new way of communicating online quickly rose to one of the internet’s most popular and most used social medias. Why? It was different. We didn’t have to type a message and wait the gruelling wait for a response; we didn’t even have to type, visual lovers rejoice. Anonymity and self-destructing messaging bought fun, secrecy and a certain amount of raceyness to our young lives. Add in the portability, editing qualities, emojis and the now loved filters and it’s an equation that spells instant success.

We want more of this type of ingenious.

Us Generation Y members and indeed our successors the millenniums are bored with traditional social media usage and that’s why we’re drawn to apps with a difference. The future lies in AR and ideas that go beyond the computer/phone screen. The sheer magnitude of Pokémon Go proves that we as users are still out there and are willing to engage when the premise is right. Pokémon Go’s downfall was that it got boring for us; we are a soundbite generation who live a million lives in a day and we want content and applications and social media sites that reflect our fast paces lives. We need constant stimulation and change and for an app or indeed social media platform to successfully capture our attention today it needs to reflect our miles-a-minute-lifestyles. We don’t want emulations of Snapchat (Sorry Instagram) or our news feeds filled with the same boring content and disengaging mush. We want innovation. We want difference and new technologies and we want them now. The social media environment is ready for a shake up and either needs a new player or a leap of faith by one of the more established sites. For now you’ll find me trailing through the dregs of the social media world and hoping I’ll one day create the next multi-billion social media idea. Maybe I’ll develop the next AR super app and you’ll all say “she told us so” as I drive through the silicone republic in my eco-powered supercar.

_______

OhheyOrla

.

Leave a Reply

